Skip to main content
Canisius Logo Andrew L Bouwhuis Library Canisius College | myCanisius | Desire2Learn

Art History

Guide for doing research in Art History

Art History

Welcome to the Library. Here you will find resources related to Art History. Please be sure to check the resources for specific course on the left hand side.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries are a great pleace to start your research. Check out some of these titles first.

Need More Books? Try here

HINT: Try searching for information using the name of your artist as a subject last name, first name

Ex: Munch, Edvard

Or search the Albright Knox Art Gallery as an author to find works about our local gallery

A catalogue raisonné is a comprehensive, annotated listing of all the known artworks by an artist either in a particular medium or all media. The works are described in such a way that they may be reliably identified by third parties.

IFAR Database: From the International Foundation For Art Research

Print Council of America databaseThe database now contains entries for European and American prints, print publishers, drawings, and photographs; and Japanese prints and photographs.

Why should you use Library Databases:

#1 - The Library has paid for you to have access

#2 - Resources have been evaluated by journal editors, peer-reviewers, database companies and librarians

#3 - Much easier to cite - all the citation information is easily identifiable and often the citations are already created for you.

Looking for journal articles? These databases contain many journals that will help you with your research. If you need help obtaining an article we do not have in full text, please use Interlibrary Loan at .


Want to use Google for your research? Try Google Scholar! Instead of websites, this search will bring back journal articles and books. 

Local Art Galleries 

Websites or Images: Remember, be sure to seek permission from the image owner if you plan to use these images for websites, online postings or presentations unless otherwise stated.


Ask A Librarian

Librarians are here to help you. That's what we do!

1 - Stop at the Reference Desk
A librarian is at the reference desk almost every minute the building is open just in case you need help.
We are here to help you!

2 - Call Us
      Reference Desk 716-888-8411

      List of Librarians

3 - Text Us
       716-712 4357 (HELP)

4 - Ask A Librarian (Online Chat)
      Feeling shy? Studying in the middle of the night? Use our online chat reference service available 24/7.
      Or try Text A Librarian at 716-712-HELP

5 - Book A Librarian
Schedule an individual reference session with a librarian. Get all of your research questions answered and keep your paper
     and reference list on the right track.