Quick Cite
"Need to cite a reference but don’t remember proper citation formatting?
Simply snap a picture of a book’s barcode and receive a citation for the book in your email Inbox! Choose from APA, MLA, Chicago, or IEEE styles."
Should I cite?
When and How do I cite a source within the text?
You must document your source whenever you directly quote or paraphrase another's idea. Immediately after you quote or write about the idea, identify your source parenthetically (usually the author's last name with the relevant page number). If using Turabian enter a Note and footnote. Give credit where credit is due.
What is the Works Cited, References, Bibliography page?
The Works Cited, References, or Bibliography section of your paper is an alphabetical list of all sources cited in your paper. A citation system may also permit inclusion of sources consulted but not cited (e.g., Turabian).
Annotated Bibliography
- Annotated Bibliographies
What it is . . . types . . . what to include . . . samples . . . and more. - Annotated Bibliography: Libguide

MLA, APA, Chicago: New Editions
MLA, APA, and the Chicago Manual of Style have published new editions. With a nod to the digital age, APA Style Manual (6th ed., second printing), MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.), and Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed.) have revised their guidelines with an eye to the broad range of information sources now available.
The basic structure of a reference list remains intact (e.g., author, title, publication information). However, recognizing the fluid nature and new types of electronic sources, URLS now may be shortened or eliminated and new requirements added. For clarity, MLA requires identification of a source's medium (e.g., Print, Web, CD, Fiche, DVD-ROM, MP3 file). APA looks to DOI or publisher sites for scholarly article connections.
The heart of a reference list provides the details a reader needs to reach the information source. To that end, both APA and MLA recognize a writer may need to adjust an entry to meet that goal. Such adjustments must be consistently applied.
Students are encouraged to check with course faculty to confirm the citation system, edition, and format details to be used.
Copies of MLA Handbook (7th ed.), APA Style Guide (6th ed., second printing), and Chicago Manual (16th ed.) are available in Ready Reference (Library Service Desk) and the Reference shelves (Library main floor).
Comprehensive Sites
Sites contain information on various citation styles: MPA, APA, Chicago, Turabian, and/or CSE
- Diana Hacker: Research and Documentation Online (Diana Hacker) -- MLA, APA, Chiago, CSE
Site provides sample paper, citation explanations, and examples of in-text citations and references.
Styles: APA (Social Sciences), MLA (Humanities), Chicago (History), and CSE (Science). - A Pocket Style Manual 5th ed.
MLA, APA, Chicago styles. A quick reference for reseachers. - Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age 4th ed.
MLA, APA, Chicago, and CSE styles
Comprehensive Citation Guide
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Reference Librarians |
Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading...
