Definitions
In an annotated bibliography, each citation is followed by a brief note—or annotation—that describes and/or evaluates the source and the information found in it.
A citation reflects all of the information a person would need to locate a particular source. For example, basic citation information for a book consists of name(s) of author(s) or editor(s), title of book, name of publisher, place of publication, and most recent copyright date.
A citation style dictates the information necessary for a citation and how the information is ordered, as well as punctuation and other formatting.
A bibliography lists citations for all of the relevant resources a person consulted during his or her research.
A works cited list presents citations for those sources referenced in a particular paper, presentation, or other composition.
A bibliography lists citations for all of the relevant resources a person consulted during his or her research.
A works cited list presents citations for those sources referenced in a particular paper, presentation, or other composition.
An in-text citation consists of just enough information to correspond to a source's full citation in a Works Cited list. In-text citations often require a page number (or numbers) showing exactly where relevant information was found in the original source.
Comments (0)
Annotated Bibliography
What is an Annotated Bibliography?
- An annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources.
What is the Purpose of an Annotated Bibliography?
- To show that the author has understood the sources used, and give enough information for the reader to decide on whether to read that specific work.
Some comments
For each Annotation write a paragraph including the following information:
- A variety of sources that are evaluated adequately with regards to credibility.
- Sources that are relevant, relate to each other, and address the research topic.
- The main idea or content of each source.
- Bibliographic entries are correctly written in an accepted documentation style (i.e. MLA, APA, Chicago, etc.).
- Annotations must include correct spelling, grammar, and punctuation.
Further Explanation
- Definition of An Annotated Bibliography
- How To Write an Annotated Bibliography
- Annotated Bibliography ExamplesHere you will find sample annotations from annotated bibliographies, each with a different research project. Remember that the annotations you include in your own bibliography should reflect your research project and/or the guidelines of your assignment.
For those who would like further visual explanation.
Format of an Annotated Bibliography
Reference Librarians |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Help
If you need to speak to a librarian, you may call 716-888-8411 or stop in at the reference desk.


Loading...
