Skip to main content
Canisius Logo Andrew L Bouwhuis Library Canisius College | myCanisius | Desire2Learn

Choice Reviews Online: Home

Using Choice Online

Choice Reviews Online is an authoritative database of reviews of academic books and electronic resources. The library uses CHOICE Reviews to aid faculty in being part of the collection development process for their discipline as they can suggest items for purchase. The online version of CHOICE Reviews replaces the print Choice cards that we used to send to departments each month.

Register for a profile so you can save reviews to a list, save searches or create alerts to be sent to you when items are reviewed within your areas of interest.

1. You may  create your own profile.

2. By creating your own profile you may see the Choice reviews for subject areas you have placed in your profile—just click on My Monthly Reviews. 

3. You may select titles and email requests directly to your liaison or to colleagues . 

4. You may browse the reviews or you can use both Quick and Advanced search if you are looking for specific titles or authors.

5. By visiting Current Issue, you can click on the Bibliographic EssayThe bibliographic essay chooses a subject and highlights important publications covering a designated time period. 

6. Many issues also provide a forthcoming title list in a subject area. 

7. You can create a profile and alerts.  The alerts will email you when the next issue is available. A profile also allows one to save searches and make and save lists. 

8. The online version has web exclusives: faculty picks (lists 5 essential titles), editors picks (highlights a wide-ranging group of titles from that issue) and hot topics (selected reviews of current interest topics).

9.  You can search for Choice reviews as far back as 1988.

10.  Review icons that may help guide you.

What Do the Icons Mean?

Some of the reviews contain icons indicating the title reviewed is part of a collection. These are:

  • Outstanding Academic Title icon Outstanding Academic Title
  • Community College Recommended icon Recommended for community colleges
  • Community College top 75 icon "Top 75" highly recommended titles for community colleges

Labels for each of these appear when you hover over the icon

Create an Account and Log in

As a current subscriber, your institution is already activated by means of its IP range. In order to take advantage of the many features of Choice Reviews, however, you will want to create an individual account associated with that of your institution.

If you are currently connected to your institution's network, from the navigation bar simply click Login.

menu bar location for create account link

Click the Create Account screen and enter the requested information to create a username and password for your account.

login form

Using your login credentials (username and password) you may now access Choice Reviews from any device connected to the Internet, either in or outside of your institution's network. Choice Review's responsive design makes it usable from tablets and phones as well as your computer.

Alternatively, you may ask your systems administrator to create an account for you.

Once you are logged in, the navigation bar will change to show your account username.

menu bar location for create account link Manage your account using the links under [Username] > My Info

Simple Search

Type a word into the simple search box at the top right of the navigation bar

menu bar search field location When you enter multiple words, the default operator is OR, so if you are searching for an exact phrase or multiword combination, use quotation marks around the search terms: "cellular structure" "Richard III"

Saved searches

Search Results

The search results page displays results in either abbreviated (bibliographic data only) or expanded form. The abbreviated form is the default, but you can display results in expanded form by clicking the Expand All box at the head of the search results list. To open an abbreviated review, click "Show More." To view a review on a page all its own, click on the title of the work.

Ordering Search Results

Search results may be ordered using the drop-down menus at the head of the search results list. You can also specify the number of results displayed on each page.

sorting menus for search To help you quickly find reviews of the most recently published works, the default sort order is Most Recent Reviews. When currency is not an issue, Most Relevant is often a desirable strategy.

Printing

Print Search Results Page

Clicking the Print icon Print search results icon at the head of the search results list will print all titles on that page. Use the Expand All click box if you wish to include the review text of all items.  Prints in a large font size.

Print A Single Review

Clicking on the title of any work listed on a search results page will display that review on a page of its own. Click the Print icon on the gear menu to print the review.

Print A List

To print a list, click on its title to open it and then click the Print icon on the gear menu.

Printing in Firefox

The Firefox browser has a known bug that renders it incompatible with the style sheet used in Choice Reviews to display review text. As a result, Firefox prints only blank pages when a user attempts to print review text. Until Firefox addresses this bug, we recommend that you print from the Chrome or Safari browsers.

 

Create a List

If you wish to create a list of search results, indicate the titles you wish to include in your list by clicking the checkboxes at the upper left of each review, then click the "Create a New List" Create list icon icon at the head of the search results. You will be asked to name your list.

Lists are limited to 200 titles.

 

Add to an Existing List

To add a work to an existing list, click the checkbox at the upper left of the review, then click the "Add to List" icon Save to list icon at the head of the search results.

 

View and Edit a list

To view a list you have saved, click on the Lists drop-down on the navigation bar to open it.

lists menu

To edit, share, download, or print your list, click the gear icon associated with that list

menu bar location for create account link

Share Your List with Others

From the Lists menu, you can choose who sees your list by using the "Manage Users" option on the gear icon for the list you wish to share. Only individuals shown on the users list can be invited to receive your cardstack. If you are an account administrator and you wish to share your list with someone who is not yet a user, you first need to create an account for that person. Click here to find out how. After your colleague has created a password on that account, he or she can view your list.

If you are not an account administrator, please ask someone who is to create the account for you.

share list menu item

Group Your Lists

As your lists proliferate, you may want to group them by topic, users, date, and so forth for ease of discovery. To create a group, from the Lists > My Lists > Groups menu, click "Create a New Group." After you have created a group, navigate to Lists > My Lists > Lists, select the list(s) you wish to include in a group, and click "Add List to Group" on the gear icon.

After you add a list to a group, the list name will no longer appear in Lists.

Export a List to Excel

From the Lists menu, click on the gear icon for the list you wish to download, then choose "Download List."

Should the ISBN appear in scientific notation (!), right click on the cell in which it appears; choose Number format, then reduce the numbers to the right of the decimal to zero.

Your suggestions are very valuable to us, since you are the experts in your field. We ask you to send your purchase suggestions to your department liaison.  Your liaison will then send any approved titles to their library liaison. Your suggestions can be emailed or printed and given to your liaison;  please ask their preference.

E-mail, Print, and Save to Lists

Selected citations can easily be e-mailed, printed, downloaded (to Excel), or saved on the site (you must be logged in to save lists on the site. See "Create an account" tab to obtain a user name and password).  Options for selecting and managing citations appear at the top and bottom of each list of records. Reviews can be e-mailed in brief citation or full text.

What are bibliographic essays?

Choice publishes bibliographic essays to meet the needs of undergraduates, faculty, and libraries serving these users. Essays may address a new curricular area, a topic that has assumed significantly increased interest, an interdisciplinary area, or important recent literature on a traditional subject. Essays cover core materials ranging from introductory to advanced undergraduate levels. Emphasis is on English-language books or electronic media including Internet resources.

Where Are My Bibliographic Essays?

On the section tab, click Bibliographic Essays. You will be taken to the Choice LibGuides site, where the essays are now published in that extremely useful format.

bibliographic essays menu link

Please check the FAQ and User guide if you need more assistance or contact your department's library liaison.