A guide to help students in FYS 101 courses at Canisius College. This guide will help you to complete your annotated bibliography assignment. Be sure to check with your professor and/or syllabus for specific details for your course.
This guide was created for ENG 111 Classes at Canisius College.
Please feel free to use these resources for your paper and to ask any librarian for more assistance. You can email us at firstname.lastname@example.org, or call us at 716-888-8404 or make an appointment by using Book-A-Librarian.
This is a link to a set of 9 tutorials. In order to see the table of contents, click on the lines in the upper right corner of the frame, and select the topic that will address you current needs.
GREAT PLACE TO START - Searches many different collections at once and covers a wide range of subjects. Includes newspapers, magazines, journals, trade publications, reports and blogs. Includes full text of the New York Times (1980 – present), Wall Street Journal (1984 – present) and JOPERD – Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (1988-present).
Great for background information - Current information on controversial topics with pro/con viewpoint essays, primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, articles, links to websites, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images and podcasts.
Great for background information - A collection of reference books (i.e. encyclopedias) available online. Titles in Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Medicine, Religion, Science and Social Science.
Search for and request items from the shared ConnectNY catalog. Items will be delivered to Canisius and can be picked up in the Library. ConnectNY is a consortium of independent academic institutions in New York State.