Locate books owned by the Canisius Library.
Borrow books at no cost from participating NY libraries; fast delivery.
Identify books from libraries all over the world, which you can then request at no charge via your ILLiad account.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: Business Plans Handbook
A collection of representative business plans in 35 volumes, compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses.
Most plans here can be purchased from the publisher, but approximately 50 sample plans are freely available on the Web.
Business Plans Index
A subject index to sample business plans, including those published in book form and those available from free Web sites. Compiled by the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh.
A small collection of sample marketing plans are available at no charge (approximately 25 of them); users can also purchase additional plans for a fee.
Business Insights: Essentials (Encyclopedia of American Industries)
(Select “Industries” from the tabs at top of screen, then “Industry Essays”.)
Business Source Premier
(Select “Industry Profile” from the Publication Type drop-down menu, then enter your NAICS code in the first search box.)
Hoovers Online (Industry Reports)
For each industry covered, includes industry overview, profiles of leading companies, summary news stories, and links to other Internet resources. From the Hoover’s main page, click on the “Industries” tab.
SBRnet: Sports Business Research Network
Market research and other data on sports and sports-related businesses.
Online catalog of market research reports available for sale from leading research firms. Registered users can view tables of contents at no charge.
National Trade and Professional Associations of the United States
Ref HD2425 .D53 2014 (print directory)
In-depth directory describing thousands of trade associations, including website links.
Small Business Sourcebook
Ref HD2346 .U6S66 (print directory)
A guide to information resources about specific types of small businesses.
Business Source Premier
This EBSCOhost database provides full text articles from several thousand business journals, magazines, newsletters, and local business newspapers. Database also includes a variety of market research reports, industry profiles, and SWOT analysis reports..
From the ProQuest screen, click on "Multiple databases..." to find the three ABI/INFORM databases and then select the ones you want to search. This suite of databases provides full text articles from several thousand business journals, magazines, newsletters, and local business newspapers.
Small Business Collection
Articles of all types focusing on small business topics.
Click on the "News" tab at the top of the page. You'll find business articles from newspapers, journals, newswires & broadcast transcripts from around the world.
Click on “Search the News” option to search for articles from local newspapers, wire services, press releases, business magazines and trade journals.
U.S. Small Business Administration
Includes a diversity of resources and toolkits, including tips on creating a business plan, SBA publications, and links to outside resources.
Kauffman Foundation Entrepreneurship Research Portal
Extensive collection of resources relating to small business, including proprietary surveys and statistical reports.
Kauffman Foundation Entrepreneurship Homepage
Tips and advice from successful entrepreneurs on a variety of topics, including financing, human resources, and marketing.
NFIB Tools and Tips
Articles and other resources on a wide range of relevant topics from the National Foundation of Independent Business.
Entrepreneur Magazine Startup How-To Guides
Practical tips from the editors of Entrepreneur magazine. Covers a broad spectrum of topics such as choosing a business name and a directory of top franchise opportunities.
News, articles, tips, and links to useful resources.
Basic information on approximately 15 million companies in the U.S., including small firms and home businesses. Use the “Build a List” function to screen by size, industry and geographic area.
Business Insights: Essentials
Includes several databases with company directories, rankings, and financial analysts’ reports.
A variety of specialized company directories and financial databases. Select “Companies” from the database options.
Buffalo/Niagara Partnership Membership Directory
Directory of firms belonging to the local chamber of commerce.
New York State Corporation and Business Entity Database
A searchable database of all corporations and registered business names on file with the NYS Department of State.
LLRX Business Filings Databases
Links to searchable databases from each of the 50 states, covering corporation records, registered business names, and related business filings. Maintained by the Law Library Research Xchange.
Online directory of more than 100,000 U.S. manufacturers and industrial suppliers. Searchable by company name, type of product, or brandname.
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios (annual)
Ref HF5681.R25 T68 (print resource)
Industry-specific ratios and norms for companies of every size, based on aggregated data from IRS corporate and business returns.
Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios Dun & Bradstreet Corp.(annual)
Ref HF5681.R25I63 (print resource)
RMA Annual Statement Studies Risk Management Association (annual)
Ref HF5681.B2R6 (print resource)
Industry Statistics Portal (U.S. Bureau of the Census)
Entry point to find all of the data series listed below
Economic Census (U.S. Bureau of the Census), updated every 5 years.
2012 Census has begun its release schedule and will be complete in June 2016
Sections you may find particularly useful:
ZIP Code Statistics
County Business Patterns (U.S. Bureau of the Census), annual
Annual data at the county level by NAICS code. Data are limited, focusing on number of establishments, establishments by employee size, total employees, and aggregate payroll.
Nonemployer Statistics (Metropolitan Level)
Annual survey data on firms with no paid employees. Data limited to number of establishments and aggregate sales. Tabulated at national, state, and metro area levels.
American Community Survey (U.S. Census Bureau)
Annual household survey data for the entire country, searchable by every geographic entity of 65,000 people or larger. Annual data for 2000 forward.
Small Area Income & Poverty Estimates (U.S. Bureau of the Census)
Income estimates generated at the state, county level, and school district level, every 2 years.
Wages by Area and Occupation (BLS)
A variety of reports on data on wages and salaries by geographic area, occupation, and industry; tabulated by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Occupationally-specific salary data, searchable by ZIP Code area.
Links to more than 300 salary surveys available on the Web
Free salary reports by occupation and ZIP Code
University of Buffalo Regional Institute
Research reports and studies conducted by the Institute.
New York State Division for Small Business
Information on State programs for small business.
New York State Small Business Development Center
Links to all kinds of statistics and resources for doing business in NYS.
New York State Dept. of Labor: Labor Statistics
Data on employment, unemployment, and regional projections for NYS.
Cornell Program on Applied Demographics (PAD)
Demographic data and projections on NYS counties and school districts.