Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Library. Here you will find resources related to school and clinical mental health counseling. Please be sure to check the different tabs for the various types of resources.
To search for physical copies of counseling videos in the Canisius College library:
Type this phrase in the library catalog:
For streaming videos, try the Counseling and Therapy in Video collections:
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Vol. 1-4 This link opens in a new window
The collection includes filmed footage of therapy sessions, re-enacted therapy sessions, training videos and scripted sessions designed by counseling professionals with current and emerging areas, such as cyberbullying social media, autism, eating disorders and PTSD. Prominent therapists are also featured demonstrating their methods. The collection directly discusses the CACREP 8 Core Areas required by many states for counselor certification as well as a wide range of contemporary issues from working with LGBT clients to helping clients suffering from PTSD.
Counseling and Therapy Online: Current Practices
Counseling and Therapy Online: Current Practices – covers the current best practices for counseling and therapy. It includes real therapy session transcripts and presentations by practicing and academic therapists. The collection directly discusses the CACREP 8 Core Areas required by many states for counselor certification as well as a wide range of contemporary issues from working with LGBT clients to helping clients suffering from PTSD.
To search for books and e-books in the Canisius Library Catalog:
Type in the keyword you are searching for and use the limit "books and e-books" located in the left-hand column.
Ex. Reality Therapy
You also have access to the book collections from other private colleges from New York State. Click here to search these collections. Any book you request will be shipped to Canisius for your use. Books usually take 5 business days to reach the college.
You may also request books not owned by Canisius or ConnectNY through Interlibrary loan.
Searching for Standardized Tests in the library catalog:
- Go to the library catalog and perform a search for test that you are looking for.
- Use the Location filter on the left column to select the Collections and Technical Services Department.
- Once you find the test you want, write down the call number and bring it to the front desk.
- The standardized test collection may only be used by CURRENT Canisius faculty, staff and students.
- Only 2 tests may be checked out at a time to a patron and may not leave the library.
- Tests MUST be checked out and for only 3 hours.
- Faculty do not have a check out limit may take the tests out of the library but the tests are due back by closing time
If you would like more information about the test collection, how to find test reviews & reliability, or how to cite a test or test review, please visit our guide on Standardized Tests.
To search for children's items (games, books, lesson plans):
- Go to the library home page
- Type in search term, click enter
- Now use the limit functions located on the left hand side of the screen.
- If you want physical items limit the location to Curriculum Center.
- If you want online items limit to "Available online"
If you would like more information about this collection, please visit our guide on the Curriculum Center.
Need articles for an assignment? Try one of the following databases:
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
A great database for undergraduate psychology and education classes. Articles from psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Subjects range from covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window
A good place to start for basic psychology information. Indexes more than 500 journals and magazines, covering all fields of psychology.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
GREAT PLACE TO START - Searches many different collections at once and covers a wide range of subjects. Includes newspapers, magazines, journals, trade publications, reports and blogs. Includes full text of the New York Times (1980 – present), Wall Street Journal (1984 – present) and JOPERD – Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (1988-present).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary research in science, education, social science, business, engineering and technology, mathematics, medicine, psychology, and biotechnology journals from 1995 to the present.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Excellent source for scholarly journal articles in the social sciences, including education. The humanities and sciences are also represented among the over 700 indexed titles.
Ebooks Available Online
Encyclopedia of Counseling by
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2017-04-21
E-book. Study guide for the National Counselor Examination and the Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Examination.
Print Books (in-library use only)
Librarians are here to help you. That's what we do!
Need more assistance? Here are the ways you can contact a librarian:
1 - Stop at the Reference Desk
A librarian is at the reference desk almost every minute the building is open just in case you need help.
We are here to help you!
2 - Call Us
Reference Desk 716-888-8411
List of Librarians
3 - Text Us
4 - Ask A Librarian (Online Chat)
Feeling shy? Studying in the middle of the night? Use our online chat reference service available 24/7.
Or try Text A Librarian at 716-712-HELP
5 - Book A Librarian
Schedule an individual reference session with a librarian. Get all of your research questions answered and keep your paper
and reference list on the right track.