Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English and Literature
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Great for background information - A collection of reference books (i.e. encyclopedias) available online. Included are Twayne's Authors Series, Dictionary of Literary Biography and more.
Try searching on just your author and/or title. Then, try narrowing your search by a character or a theme within the work.
For instance, start with Romeo & Juliet. Then limit the search by Rosaline or a theme like violence or death.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
A trusted resource, it contains full-text scholarly articles and peer-reviewed books. Ebooks are available in PDF format, are searchable and retrievable to the chapter level. The search screen allows you to search for either books or articles and allows users to limit by language, research area, and resource type.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Great for multidisciplinary topics and historical research. Arts, business, education, language, literature, religion, women’s studies and science journals. Provides a historical perspective because coverage starts as early as the 1900s and extends up to 3-5 years prior to the current year.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
GREAT PLACE TO START - Searches many different collections at once and covers a wide range of subjects. Includes newspapers, magazines, journals, trade publications, reports and blogs. Includes full text of the New York Times (1980 – present), Wall Street Journal (1984 – present) and JOPERD – Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (1988-present).
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Excellent source for scholarly journal articles
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a free search that enables specific searches of scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, patents and technical reports. You can find many full text articles by adding Canisius as a library link, found under Google Scholar’s settings.
ConnectNY Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search for and request items from the shared ConnectNY catalog. Items will be delivered to Canisius and can be picked up in the Library. ConnectNY is a consortium of independent academic institutions in New York State.
Ask A Librarian
Librarians are here to help you.That's what we do!
1 - Call Us
Reference Desk 716-888-8411
List of Librarians
2 - Text Us
716-712 4357 (HELP)
3 - Ask A Librarian (Online Chat)
Feeling shy? Studying in the middle of the night? Use our online chat reference service available 24/7.
Or try Text A Librarian at 716-712-HELP
4 - Book A Librarian
Schedule an individual reference session with a librarian. Get all of your research questions answered and keep your paper
and reference list on the right track.
Hours and Calendar
Check here for our current hours and holiday hours.
If you need an article that Canisius does not own or one we only have in print, place a request through our Interlibrary Loan Service. We can borrow materials for you from libraries across the country or scan articles we own here.