Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below, you will find links to databases to find articles for your paper. Most of them will be full text. If not, please use Interlibrary Loan. If you find a citation to an article but we do not own the journal it appears in, submit an Interlibrary loan request. We will get a copy of the article for you and send it to you via email.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
A key resource for kinesiology, physical education and sports majors –it contains articles and books from sports related fields that cannot be found elsewhere.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection
Covering a wide spectrum of topics, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and applications for specific sports.
Useful for upper level classes in health and medicine. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and from publisher web sites. Articles may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Multidisciplinary research in science, education, social science, business, engineering and technology, mathematics, medicine, psychology, and biotechnology journals from 1995 to the present.
Searches many different collections at once and covers a wide range of subjects. Includes newspapers, magazines, journals, trade publications, reports and blogs. Includes JOPERD – Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (1988-present).
Health Reference Center Academic
A great place for beginning medical researchers to start - Access to nursing and allied health journals and personal health information sources. Includes case studies (case reports) and topical overviews.
Premier site for health & physical education teachers
SHAPE America is the largest organization of professionals involved in physical education, physical activity, dance, school health and sport--all specialties related to achieving an active, healthy lifestyle
American College of Sports Medicine
The National Strength and Conditioning Association is the worldwide authority on strength and conditioning
The National Athletic Trainers’ Association is the professional membership association for certified athletic trainers and others who support the athletic training profession.
The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services External Web Site Policy , is the nation’s medical research agency—making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Great for background information - A collection of reference books (i.e. encyclopedias) available online. Titles in Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Medicine, Religion, Science and Social Science.
Search for and request items from the shared ConnectNY catalog. Items will be delivered to Canisius and can be picked up in the Library. ConnectNY is a consortium of independent academic institutions in New York State.