Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Political Science Resources
Political Science is a multidisciplinary subject and articles may be found in almost any database, here are a few of the most popular databases for you to try:
Includes country information, company profiles, SEC filings, international, domestic, and local news, European Union law, federal and state statues as well as federal, state, court of appeals and supreme court cases.
A database comprised of historical and current collections of legal documents. Collections cover law journals, animal law and welfare, the Brennan center for justice publications, foreign relations of the U.S., history of international law, national survey of state laws, religion and the law, slavery in American & the world, numerous U.S. governmental documents, codes, regulations, collections, statues and laws, women and the law and world constitutions.
Military & Intelligence Database
Covers all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs.
War and Terrorism Collection
This collection is perfect for analysts, risk management professionals and students of military science, history, social science.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Great for background information - Current information on controversial topics with pro/con viewpoint essays, primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, articles, links to websites, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images and podcasts.
ProQuest GREAT PLACE TO START - Searches many different collections at once and covers a wide range of subjects. Includes newspapers, magazines, journals, trade publications, reports and blogs. Includes full text of the New York Times (1980 – present), Wall Street Journal (1984 – present) and JOPERD – Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (1988-present).
JSTOR GREAT PLACE TO START - Great for multidisciplinary topics and historical research. Arts, business, education, language, literature, religion, women’s studies and science journals. Provides a historical perspective because coverage starts as early as the 1600s and extends up to 3-5 years prior to the current year. Some articles are available in French and Spanish.
Academic OneFile GREAT PLACE TO START - Search for magazine, newspaper and journal articles on any topic. Also includes podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN and CBC.
Sage Journals Excellent source for scholarly journal articles in the social sciences, including education. The humanities and sciences are also represented among the over 700 indexed titles.
To search for books and e-books in the Canisius Library:
Type in the keyword you are searching for and use the limit "books and e-books" located in the left-hand column.
Ex. international relations
You also have access to the book collections from other private colleges from New York State. Click here to search these collections. Any book you request will be shipped to Canisius for your use. Books usually take 5 business days to reach the college.
You may also request books not owned by Canisius or ConnectNY through Interlibrary loan.
The library owns many of the Brookings Institution publications. The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization whose mission is to conduct in-depth research that leads to new ideas for solving problems facing society at the local, national and global level. To find these publications search the library catalog for the author "Brookings Institution."
Try the library catalog for physical copies of videos or for streaming videos, try one of our many streaming video collections:
American History in Video
The videos, which include searchable transcripts, are taken from commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage (primary source), public affairs footage and documentaries. It is designed for teaching and research.
Filmakers Library Online
Documentaries from 1974 - present. Interdisciplinary resource with international issue-based documentaries and independent films. Includes race and gender studies, human rights, globalization, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science, and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. Clips, playlists, etc., can be integrated into web pages and learning management systems either as links or embeds.
Human Rights Studies Online
Human Rights Studies Online uses a case study approach to document and analyze over 30 major human rights violations and atrocities including the Holocaust, Bosnia-Herzegovina and Rwanda. This database provides access to books, primary documents, audio, maps, images, and video.