Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Psychology is a multidisciplinary subject and articles may be found in almost any database, here are a few of the mosts popular databases for you to try:
A great database for undergraduate psychology and education classes. Articles from psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Subjects range from covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
A good place to start for basic psychology information. Indexes more than 500 journals and magazines, covering all fields of psychology.
ScienceDirect Multidisciplinary research in science, education, social science, business, engineering and technology, mathematics, medicine, psychology, and biotechnology journals from 1995 to the present.
JSTOR GREAT PLACE TO START - Great for multidisciplinary topics and historical research. Arts, business, education, language, literature, religion, women’s studies and science journals. Provides a historical perspective because coverage starts as early as the 1600s and extends up to 3-5 years prior to the current year. Some articles are available in French and Spanish.
ProQuest GREAT PLACE TO START - Searches many different collections at once and covers a wide range of subjects. Includes newspapers, magazines, journals, trade publications, reports and blogs. Includes full text of the New York Times (1980 – present), Wall Street Journal (1984 – present) and JOPERD – Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (1988-present).
Academic OneFile GREAT PLACE TO START - Search for magazine, newspaper and journal articles on any topic. Also includes podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN and CBC.
Diversity Studies Collection This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.
Project MUSE A trusted resource, it contains full-text scholarly articles and peer-reviewed books. Ebooks are available in PDF format, are searchable and retrievable to the chapter level. The search screen allows you to search for either books or articles and allows users to limit by language, research area, and resource type.
To search for books and e-books in the Canisius Library:
Type in the keyword you are searching for and use the limit "books and e-books" located in the left-hand column.
Example: "psychology and education"
You also have access to the book collections from other private colleges from New York State. Click here to search these collections. Any book you request will be shipped to Canisius for your use. Books usually take 5 business days to reach the college.
You may also request books not owned by Canisius or ConnectNY through Interlibrary loan.
To search for physical copies of psychology videos try the library catalog or for streaming videos, try one of our many streaming video collections:
Filmakers Library Online Documentaries from 1974 - present. Interdisciplinary resource with international issue-based documentaries and independent films. Includes race and gender studies, human rights, globalization, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science, and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. Clips, playlists, etc., can be integrated into web pages and learning management systems either as links or embeds.
Human Rights Studies Online Human Rights Studies Online uses a case study approach to document and analyze over 30 major human rights violations and atrocities including the Holocaust, Bosnia-Herzegovina and Rwanda. This database provides access to books, primary documents, audio, maps, images, and video.
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Vol. 1-4 The collection includes filmed footage of therapy sessions, re-enacted therapy sessions, training videos and scripted sessions designed by counseling professionals with current and emerging areas, such as cyberbullying social media, autism, eating disorders and PTSD. Prominent therapists are also featured demonstrating their methods. The collection directly discusses the CACREP 8 Core Areas required by many states for counselor certification as well as a wide range of contemporary issues from working with LGBT clients to helping clients suffering from PTSD.
Education in Video Includes teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. The collection gives students a way to observe the intricacies of behavior, tone, facial expression, and body language that define effective teaching styles. The videos from Harry Wong’s The Effective Teacher are also included in this collection.
Librarians are here to help you. That's what we do!
Need more assistance? Here are the ways you can contact a librarian:
1 - Stop at the Reference Desk
A librarian is at the reference desk almost every minute the building is open just in case you need help.
We are here to help you!
2 - Call Us
Reference Desk 716-888-8411
List of Librarians
3 - Text Us
716-712 4357 (HELP)
4 - Ask A Librarian (Online Chat)
Feeling shy? Studying in the middle of the night? Use our online chat reference service available 24/7.
Or try Text A Librarian at 716-712-HELP
5 - Book A Librarian
Schedule an individual reference session with a librarian. Get all of your research questions answered and keep your paper
and reference list on the right track.